Starting today, you’ll notice some big changes to photos. We’re excited to announce a few improvements meant to address some of your privacy concerns and give you more control over your content and your experience.
The Private Photos Folder
The biggest new change is that we now have private folders that allow you to upload unmoderated images and control who sees what.
How it works:
- You must request access to view another member’s private folder.
- Incoming requests awaiting your approval display in your notifications.
- There’s a new quicklist featuring all private photos that have been unlocked to you.
- And also a new search option for members with private photos.
- Outgoing unlock requests are limited to 10 per day for non-premium members, which will help limit request flooding.
- Any previous audience-restricted photos have now been moved into your private folder.
- Members are not allowed to require payment for access to their private folders.
App users: your private photos are labelled "Restricted" for now. A major app update is in the works and will include all the private photos goodness. In the meantime you can use the website on your mobile to: request access to someone's private folder, or grant others access to your private folder.
Raising the Photo Upload Limit
Because we want to encourage the sharing of photos, we’ve raised the upload limit for regular members from 100 to 200 photos.
You get to choose how to divide those photos among your private and public folders, so you can upload 200 public photos; or 200 private photos; or 100 public and 100 private; or any other combination you wish. The choice is entirely yours!
Safe Browsing Mode
And lastly we now have a new Safe Browsing setting. You’ll notice it’s turned on by default, which means you’ll only see approved public content in the newsfeeds and photofeeds on both the app and website.
In Safe Browsing Mode, photos that have not yet been reviewed or are of a more sensitive nature are hidden from view, allowing for a more “Safe for Work” experience.
As a part of this change, we no longer allow members to set their profile photo to one that has been marked "sensitive". If your current profile photo is marked sensitive, our system has selected the next available non-sensitive photo automatically.
To turn Safe Browsing mode off at any time, simply go to Account Settings / Preferences (on the website) and uncheck it.
Real-time Photos in the App
Because of our new photos system, we can now show photos in the app as they are uploaded, rather than having to wait for them to be approved by our admins. We’re still working on the new app, which will help bridge the gap between the app and website experience, and our new photos features bring us one step closer!
We hope you’ll find these changes useful in managing your privacy and your overall experience.