Here's some helpful information about the Grokio Community app's location features and how to make them work for you!
Members have two options for listing their location:
- The “Automatic” option will dynamically update the place name (city) shown in your profile as you move or travel.
- The "Fixed" option, where the place name you choose will not change. You can pick from one of the place names shown below Automatic, or manually enter a place of your own choosing. If you move or travel, the place name shown in your profile will not change.
We take location privacy seriously and as such have taken a number of precautions to protect yours. Specific privacy protections include:
- Only a place name (city, state, country) will show in your profile, and members cannot get access to your specific location.
- Grokio doesn’t keep a log of your past place names, unless you enable the option to post place name changes on your timeline.
- Grokio doesn’t keep your past specific locations (GPS data) on its servers.
- Grokio uses your specific location to show you members that are nearby, and to calculate distance with others. This location is kept private and is not shared with other members.
- You can always opt-out from having the app get access to your specific location, by revoking the permission from the app settings. By doing so, some app features might not be available or work as expected.